School

Back to School

I sometimes wonder why I want to enter a field that is so full of hate and controversy. One where I’m coming in on the ‘radical’ side, where the majority of people already in the field will call me a heretic and deny that what I have to say has any truth.

I don’t fall in with the open theists and the universalists. Well, not totally. I subscribe to many of their beliefs, but there are a lot of things I think they are wrong about. Same goes with the reformed folks, and the evangelicals, and the Catholics, and those in the protestant high order churches (Lutheran, Anglican, etc). I haven’t found a group where I fit in, and therefore don’t know where I’m going to end up. I have a Mennonite heritage, but I’m not a pacifist. I mean, I want to be a Chaplain, for pete’s sake.

I am not good at putting myself out there for the ridicule of others. I’m not a huge fan of controversy. I do want people to realize that just because something has been taught a certain way for the past 500 years, that doesn’t make it right, or the only truth.

When I first went to Bible college, I wasn’t ready. I wasn’t in the right place, and wasn’t doing myself, or anyone else, any good by being there. I did love what I was learning though, and knew that one day I would go back.

I have recently been accepted as a student at Canadian Mennonite University where I will be working on a Bachelor of Arts in Biblical and Theological studies. I’m hoping to get as many transfer credits as possible so that I can take more of the classes that matter and less of the classes that make me a well rounded individual. I already have that down, bring on the biblical and theological studies.

Right now I’m trying to decide which classes I am going to take come January. There are a couple of classes that are mandatory, so I’m taking one of them (Introduction of Biblical Literature and Themes) and trying to decide another one to take. I figure I’ll start with 2 classes this first semester as I don’t know what Bean will be like, and it’s been 4 years since I’ve been in school. I don’t want to over-commit and get grades that I’m not happy with.

Hopefully I’ll have classes picked and registered for this week, and then 3 days after we return from our Christmas vacation, I’ll be starting school. It feels so good to finally get things rolling on this; I’ve been looking forward to it for a long time.

Oh, and I received my 22 volume set of Calvin’s Commentaries, the complete collection of Martin Luther’s sermons, Zondervan’s Handbook to the Bible and Coversations with Poppi about God today. Lots of good reading for the coming months! 🙂

One thought on “Back to School

Leave a Reply

