Daddy Blog

I need a Doctor

Why is it so hard to find a decent doctor? Why, with our amazing universal health care, can I not find a doctor with decent patient interaction skills, who can speak proper, fucking English? I mean seriously…

Now I don’t care what color my doctor is. I don’t care if he’s black, white, brown, or any color in between. I don’t care if he can speak 1 language, 2, 3, or more. All I want is a Doctor that can speak, and understand, English. Is that so much to ask?

Yesterday I went to the doctor for the first time in quite a few years. I don’t normally go because I hate waiting in line at a walk-in clinic for hours. I found a doctor in Calgary, but he was completely useless and made it seem like an imposition when I went to see him. They guy I went to see yesterday, despite not having any patient interaction skills, hardly spoke English. And the doctor that he was working with was worse. I don’t know if she is a resident, or what, but her comprehension of English is slightly above my ability to parlez francais.

Now I can deal with the fact that they were totally useless as my doctor, but next week Bean is scheduled to go there for his 2 month shots. I don’t know if I want him to see them though.

I called to see if there are any other doctors accepting new patients (we have a number we can call that hooks us up with family doctors accepting new patients) and I received two names. One is a doctor that I hear is amazing, but has 4+ hour wait times. The other has some of the worst ratings on Rate MDs.com, though it isn’t like this new doctor has a rating much higher (2.8 instead of 2.6 out of 5).

On a separate, yet related front, Mrs. Storage took Bean into a walk-in clinic this morning to have him checked out. He hadn’t pooped since early last week, and we were getting worried. We weren’t hugely worried, but figured it couldn’t hurt to check with a doctor.

After waiting for 2 hours, Mrs. Bean finally gets in to see the doctor only to be told that he doesn’t see children under 2. Umm…what? How come the nurse at the desk didn’t say anything? What a giant waste of time. Apparently he was a really great guy, had been retired and came back to do a walk-in clinic, and hadn’t seen babies in 20 years. So it was understandable that he reserved diagnosis and said we should go to a pediatrician (too bad wait times for walk-in pediatricians are 5-6 hours). He also mentioned using a glycerin suppository, something I’d read about online, but hadn’t tried yet.
**TMI WARNING**

And I must say…they worked great! 2 bucks for instant relief. I can’t believe the poop fountain that came out of that little boy. And afterward he actually felt lighter. And his stomach was soft and squishy instead of firm, and obviously full of poop.

So now he’s great. He’s poop free and feeling much better. He’s not as fussy either. So yay for suppositories. 😀

Now could someone please point me in the direction of a competent, English-speaking doctor? I’d greatly appreciate it.

2 thoughts on “I need a Doctor

  1. If you were in LA I could help you out, but I have no resources to speak of in Canada. Actually, that is not true, got a bunch in Toronto, but…

    Anyhoo, good luck with the search. Reminds me that I need to schedule a physical.

  2. I am impressed by the way you covered this topic. It is not often I come across a blog with captivating articles like yours. I will note your feed to keep up to date with your approaching updates.Just striking and do uphold up the good work.

Leave a Reply

