Daddy Blog · family

Home for the Holidays

Mrs. Storage, Bean, and I spent 14 hours driving over the weekend to spend Christmas with family back in Calgary. It was a decent drive with an overnight stop in Regina to visit friends. They have a little boy who’s almost a year older than Bean and I can’t believe how big he is. It’s strange to think that he’ll look like that by next Christmas.

We are spending the first week of our holidays at Mrs. Storage’s parents place, and then we’ll spend the second week with my parents. We’ve been here since Saturday night and it’s a little insane. Mrs. Storage’s brother and family are also staying here and they have four kids 9 and under. So there is my little family of 3, my parents-in-law, and my brother-in-law and his family of 6. And I believe they are picking up a friend from the airport right now, so that’ll bring the number of occupants up to 12. Mrs. Storage and I did manage to sneak off for a few hours this morning to get some shopping done, so we are almost all done now. One more outing should do the trick, other than our gifts for each other.

Mrs. Storage and I aren’t very good in the gift giving department, at least not when it comes to giving gifts to each other. More often than not it’s, “Okay, go buy that thing you’ve been talking about for the last little while.” Or when it comes to gifts for me, Mrs. Storage usually just gives me the amount we’ve agreed to spend on each other to put towards something I’ve been saving up for. Not terribly romantic, but practical. This year I really wanted us to get actual presents for each other that we can open up on Christmas morning. Not the day or week after. Not just words saying what we can go out and buy, but an actual, physical present that we can open on Christmas morning. With all the traveling and busyness of packing everything to get ready to come out here, and buying everyone else’s presents, and recent change in work and being new parents, we aren’t doing so well. I’m not sure if Mrs. Storage has my present yet, but I don’t think so. And I only have part of her gift. There are only 3 days until Christmas and we only have one car and not much time during which to sneak out and buy gifts for one another. We’ll see though, maybe something will come up in the next three days allowing us time. Though even with time, there’s still the task of figuring out what to buy. lol

Well I’m going to go play with my nieces and nephews while Bean sleeps. I don’t get to see them often enough, so I’ll take advantage of the time while I’m here.

Merry Christmas!

3 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays

  1. Pooldad and I spent years not being able to afford anything for eachother – as it is all about the kids when it comes to presents – so when we were finally able to have a little extra cash we did this:

    We each wrote up a Wishlist [like the kidlets] and there could be anything on it – from socks, slippers up to a new printer, etc. The list had to be long because here is the trick – your spouse picks things off the list within their budget – so you don’t know what you are getting, but you are sure to get something you want because it is on the list.

    Budgets may vary depending – but Pooldad and I always had the same limit. It was nice to have true surprises under the tree – but still receive something that was useful and we wanted too.

    I love this tradition – it keeps me from getting Tupperware or a vacuum cleaner 🙂

  2. I am Baaaaaaaaack! lol

    Just to let you know that you [and the Bean] won the Christmas movie give a way!

    No rush, just email your address when you get a chance – I can’t seem to find it 🙂 but would love to send along your Muppet Christmas movie for the holidays.

    Love the Muppets! 🙂

    Have a great Christmas Storage, Mrs and the Bean

Leave a Reply

