School

I’m a student again

I’m officially a student again. Well, part-time student, full-time dad anyway. But I figure that’ll make it all the better. It gives me more experience to draw from for my classes. 🙂

Today was my first History of Christianity class. The prof seems pretty cool, and after going through the course syllabus, I’m excited for what’s to come. It is weird being in a class with 50ish 18 year olds though. It makes me feel old. So much idealism and naitivitae (is that even a word?) in one room in all those little minds. Hopefully I can learn something form them too. 😀

There are 5 tests, 4 of which count for 10% each. There is a book review worth 15%, a 2500 word essay worth 25%, and a final exam worth 20%.

What impressed me the most is the two books that we get to choose between for our book review. We have to choose between The Great Emergence: How Christianity is Changing and Why, by Phyllis Tickle or New Faces of Christianity: Believing the Bible in the Global South. Both of which challenge the traditional view of Christianity and present Christianity in a different light than most little Christians are used to. It makes me happy that students are getting exposure to different viewpoints in a mandatory first year class. 🙂 I’m not sure which book I’ll do yet, but I’m leaning more towards Phyllis Tickle. Doug Koop, editor of ChristianWeek magazine and all-around cool guy that goes to my church wrote an article on the book back in November that got me interested in Phyllis.

We also have a big essay that is worth 25% that I am kind of excited about. It’s 2500 words and of the topic of our choosing. It has to do with the History of Christianity, or Christianity in general. So it is pretty much free reign to write about whatever piques my interest. The problem is figuring out something that will fill 8-10 pages without being too much. I need to pick a topic, and figure out where I want to go with it, and find enough resources to reference. It’s not due until March 8, but I want to get a good start on it, so I’m already brainstorming ideas. 🙂

Tomorrow is my first Introduction to Biblical Literature and Themes class. I managed to pick up both textbooks for the class used, saving myself $40. It is supposed to be an interesting class, so I’m looking forward to it.

One thought on “I’m a student again

  1. “all-around cool guy,” eh? I’m flattered. But, slipping on my editor hat, I think you mean “naivete” and it should be “rein” (not reign). Still cool? Unlikely.

Leave a Reply

