Random

I’ve been had…

Sad, so I just found out that I’ve been a victim of fraud. Nothing major mind you, but I feel gullible nonetheless.

Last year I purchased a pack of coupons for local businesses from a gentleman raising money for the annual Police Marathon. It was $20, and there were quite a few great deals.

This year someone comes along selling a similar item, but this time for Siloam Mission. Siloam Mission is a local charity that does work with the homeless and such. It’s a really great organization where a guy I play with at church is a director of some sort. So I figure since it is a good organization, and the coupons were handy last year, I bought a pack again. The dude was super friendly, and I was even going to just give him the $20 and not bother with a coupon book since I really do appreciate what Siloam Mission does. That was 2 months ago.

Today on Facebook I read that Siloam Mission doesn’t do door-to-door canvassing and that it’s just a big fraud. 😦 Sad. At least I still have the coupon booklet, which is good for something, but I do feel a little cheated, and it’s sad that there are people out there taking advantage of people like that. It negatively impacts all of the other charities that are canvassing officially, and count on the money raised in this manner. I know it has negatively affected my view of them, and I’ll be a little more wary of giving money now. I’ll most likely just start giving directly. Then I know I’m not getting screwed…. 😦

2 thoughts on “I’ve been had…

  1. I am so sorry Mr. It is so sad that people have to resort to theft and they probably don’t even feel guilty about it.

    The ones on the phone are the ones that drive me nuts. I always ask them to send me info and they usually hang up because they are scams.

    Most of our fund raising money goes to the band programs and the schools. At least we know they are legit [hey it is my kids selling the stuff :)]

  2. Hi, I’m the Web & Social Media guy here at Siloam Mission and I just came across your blog article. Sorry to hear what happened. However, I do know we had a company selling coupon books for us a couple months ago, with some of the proceeds coming to Siloam Mission. Siloam Mission staff doesn’t do door-to-door canvasing, but sometimes other companies want to do it for us and help us out with the proceeds, as a third party type of thing.

    If you want to let me know what the name of the coupon book or any other useful information, I can see if we have dealt with them or not.

    I would like to help in any way possible. If you have any other questions or concerns, feel free to email me so we can get this sorted out for you.

    Sincerely,

    Blair Barkley
    Website and Social Media Coordinator
    Siloam Mission
    300 Princess Street
    Winnipeg, MB R3B 1M3
    Phone: 204.956.4344
    Fax: 204.956.0956
    Email: blair.barkley@siloam.ca
    Web: http://www.siloam.ca
    Social: http://card.ly/blairbarkley

Leave a Reply

