Dear Bean

Baby Whisperer

Dear Bean,

Thank you for bearing with me as I learn all the intricacies of being a dad. I haven’t been at this any longer than you have, so I appreciate your patience as I learn.

I am slowly starting to understand what some of your various sounds mean, and by sounds I mean crying. Sometimes we have conversations together in your baby language, but that isn’t really understandable. I’m getting better at knowing if you are crying because you are tired, need a diaper change, or are hungry. The hungry one I’m still not 100% sure on, but I do know the first two, and this afternoon you were definitely tired.

I’m not sure why you wouldn’t go to sleep for your mom, or why you’d randomly start crying, but refused to go to sleep. That is one thing about babies that I don’t understand at all: the refusal to go to sleep when they are obviously very tired.

But because I am getting good at this being a dad thing, I took you from your mom so that she could finally take a nap, and rocked you to sleep. Now I don’t claim to be a pro, and while sometimes I can get you to sleep in 5 minutes, other times it takes over half an hour. So I don’t claim to be an expert by any stretch, but I am learning, and I think that is what counts.

Maybe soon we’ll work on getting you to go to sleep by yourself, and not have mom or I rock you to sleep every night. But I don’t really mind, though I think your absolute cuteness plays a role in that.

Love,

Dad

2 thoughts on “Baby Whisperer

  1. I have three daughters and I’m still figuring out how to be a Dad.

    Being there for them is HUGE.

    Being a great husband to your bride also is HUGE. A spirit-filled joyful home will pay life long dividends for your children.

    Enjoy the baby time, and the decades of happiness children will bring.

    Blessings to you and your family!

  2. The baby whisperer was awesome for routine… though i didn’t know it at the time it does work… Honestly, one thing i didn’t try until later was playing white noise (like rain falling) all night long so when they hear that sound they associate that with sleep, even if it is the middle of the night.

    Know that rarely are the easy things worth it…

    Oh and another tip, its ok to let them fall asleep in your arms, but wake them gently when you put them in their crib… that way they’re still drowsy but awake 🙂

Leave a comment