School

How the Benedictian Order Reads Scripture

In my history class last week, we were studying the Benedictian Order, and how they read scripture in Mass or Liturgies. When reading scripture aloud, there is no animation or expression, as that would imply interpretation, and why should you be imposing your interpretation of scripture on those listening?

I kind of like this idea. I think that a scripture reading (outside of the sermon) should be done without animation or expression of any kind. Scripture will also be read or referenced in a sermon, but as a sermon IS the telling of an interpretation, expression is permissible. But during a straight-up scripture reading, like those that often take place before sermons, I think it is important to keep expression on a minimum.

Just something interesting I learned.

Leave a comment