Fatherhood Friday

Phony SAHD

I recently came across this really amazing group of dads over at dad blogs. Every Friday they do this thing called Fatherhood Fridays, where dad’s across the blogosphere write about fatherhood. I think it’s pretty friggin cool, and thought I’d join in on the fun. So this is my first Fatherhood Friday post.

Sometimes I feel like a fraud when I tell people I am a Stay-At-Home-Dad (SAHD). While I meet the criteria of not working (I’m on 9 month parental leave where the gov’t pays me 55% of my wages), and my wife works and is the primary bread-winner, that isn’t the whole story.

See my wife only actually works 25 hours a week. We are blessed with the fact that she has an amazing job that allows her to work part-time hours, yet make as much as I did working full-time. With her home a fair bit, I decided to use this time off to take a couple of university classes to work towards finishing my undergrad that I started 8 years ago.

So while technically I am a sAHD, I feel like a phony when there are all of these men out there slugging away at home while their wives work 40+ hour weeks. I read their blogs, and follow them on twitter. I read about what life is like as a full-time SAHD, and I feel like I don’t deserve the title of SAHD.

I’ll just call myself a part-time SAHD and to all those full-time SAHD’s out there, you have my utmost respect. I don’t deal with the same issues that many SAHD’s do that stay home all day everyday with their little kidlets. I have the opportunity to get out the house most days to go to class and my wife is home quite a bit during the week with me. For this I am thankful, but there is a little part of me that wonders what it is like to be a full-time SAHD. In the meantime I’m loving being a dad with all the great support that I get. It’s like the best of both worlds.

One thought on “Phony SAHD

  1. Whether full-time or part time Stay-At-Home -Parent you aresuing the oprotunity wisly. My wife, a full time SAHM is starting back to choll for her masters degree.

    I spend some time at the beginning of last year unemployed. I don’t think I could make it as a SAHD, I would go nutts.

Leave a Reply

