bean · parenting

5 months!

The munchkin I call my son is now 1 month shy of being half of a year old. I can’t believe it has already been 5 months since that wonderful day in the middle of October. Seriously, every day is a blessing with this little guy.

The last month has brought us a number of new and exciting things, with the climax of him rolling over on Friday! It’s funny to think how big of a deal it is that he rolled over from his front to his back, but it’s just so awesome! Months from now it will be eclipsed with his first tooth, crawling, and then his first step, first word, and the list goes on. So I take it one at a time and let myself be fully engulfed in the awesomeness of the moment.

We also dealt with his first cold, which coincidentally he passed on to me, and I have quite the man-cold going on. It was quite the experience to go through, and I shared a bit about it on my Fatherhood Friday post this past Friday. It was tough watching him go through it as he really didn’t know what was going on in that little body of his. To feel his little congested chest as he’s breathing. It was hard, and while I know it won’t be the last time, it was definitely a learning experience. 🙂

The past weekend my parents came out for a visit, and it was the first time they’d seen Bean since Christmas, and while I don’t see a huge difference, they seemed to think he’d changed a lot. So we got to spend a great 4 days together, and he got lots of cuddle time with them to hopefully tide them over for a few more months.

He also smiles a TON now, and so many giggles. I’m loving how interactive he has gotten, as he’s made the transition from humanoid into human. 🙂

I can’t wait to see what the coming month brings as we move up to that magical 6 month mark.

5 month Bean
5 months old!
3 thoughts on “5 months!

  1. For me 5months onward is the most exciting part of a toddler because that’s when they often expose to a new act ivies. We can play with them and they response.

  2. I can’t figure out where [or even if] to put a comment about diaper rash and cloth diapers but we swear by cornstarch. Just plain ol’ corn starch. It is inexpensive, readily available and WORKS like gangbusters.

    He is absolutely adorable. He was definitely a 10 on the “Awwww” meter in the Skippy household this morning. 😀

Leave a Reply

