bean · Fatherhood Friday

Learning and Playing

My post as part of Fatherhood Friday, put on by the great guys over at Dad Blogs:

(which I mistakenly linked to for March 26th’s Fatherhood Friday. Check out this weeks post here: Springtime!

My son is teaching me a lot about patience. Now, I’m a pretty patient kind of guy, it’s a trait about myself that I’m rather happy to say I have. But a screaming baby in my face seems to burn through that patience pool pretty quick. Getting up 4 or 5 times after putting him down for a nap because he’s cry gets old pretty quick.

Even to just sit and play with him, I sometimes find it hard. He’s 5 months old, and can’t really do anything, but smile and giggle. And as cute as he is, I often have other things to do. There are dishes in the sink, laundry in the hamper, dirty floors to be washed, and rooms to be tidied. And then there’s the slothly side of me that just wants to sit in front of the computer and zone out. I’m still getting used to the role of being a Dad, where my time isn’t my own anymore. I am at the constant beck and call of a 13lb little dude.

So last night, as I was folding clothes with Bean on the bed beside me, I remembered something a Mom once said to me, “Kids grow up so fast, so spend as much time with them as you can. Dishes can wait, laundry can wait, but they don’t stop growing.” And it kind of hit me then that I hadn’t been spending much time actually interacting with him lately. There was always something that needed to be done.

I put down the laundry, I picked him up, and we went and played on his little mat for a while, and I think it was the most rewarding time I’ve spent in a while. He’s slowing entering the giggle phase, and was giggling and laughing almost none stop for 15 minutes. The whole time we played together he was smiling and laughing and have a great time.

It filled me with such a sense of complete and utter joy. It made me realize just how lucky I am to have such an awesome, healthy little boy. Laundry can wait. Dishes can wait. I’ll just figure out ways to do them quietly while he is asleep, because playing with him are some of the best parts of my days. And I can see that only increasing as he gets older.

Also, Bean weighed in at just over 13lbs this week! This makes my wife and I very happy as he’s near the bottom of the weight percentile for his age, though he doesn’t look too skinny to us. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Learning and Playing

  1. Great post! It’s hard sometimes to make the time to spend with our kids because there always seems to be something else demanding our time. As you said however, there is nothing more rewarding than playing with our kids.

  2. My daughter is three now and she debates me on issues. I feel like a facing a savvy defense attorney . It really is a joy to see your infant engaging and really growing all around. I sometimes have a hard time believing that she was once that small and communicated in babbles and facial expressions. Enjoy it’s a great adventure.

  3. That’s a great feeling. Even with my kids being at the ages they are to hear them really laugh makes a lot of stress go away. And yeah, they do grow up fast. I didn’t believe it until my oldest turned 11. Only 5 years from a car and 7 to graduate HS.

  4. That was a sweet post! I also agree that things can wait because my little toddlers are now little boys and little girls and it’s just weird and I miss the time where they crawled around and everything was new and interesting and smile worthy!

Leave a Reply

