Theology Thursday

Palm Sunday and Passion Week

I’ve been trying to really take the Christian seasons to heart this year, especially with regards to Lent and Easter. Lent is the 40 days, beginning with Ash Wednesday, leading up to the Easter weekend. Easter is the 50 days from Easter Sunday until Pentecost, where the followers of Christ received the Holy Spirit.

For Lent I gave up meat, committed to pray more and give my time to help others.

  • On the first account I’ve done quite well. I’ve given up meat cold turkey (haha) with the exception of this past Sunday when I had 6 chicken wings. Technically this is okay as Sunday’s are celebration, not sacrifice days, but up until then I hadn’t touched a piece of meat. This is something I’m quite proud of as meat is a major part of my diet.
  • Commitment to prayer has been a real eye opener for me, and something I have been doing a lot of thinking about, and hoping to work on more in the future. I have realized that I really don’t pray nearly enough, and so I’m thinking of praying the hours, a practice that originated with the monks in the early church. My buddy jonkramer pointed me in the direction of some great resources, so I’m going to look into that a little deeper.
  • In terms of giving of my time, I haven’t done so well. Mostly because I’m not big on leaving my little comfort zone that is myself. I’m an intorvert by nature, and it is hard to leave my shell. I’ve been slowly working on it, but it is a long process.

This Sunday is the last Sunday of Lent, and marks the beginning of Passion Week. It is Palm Sunday and commemorating Jesus’ Triumphal Entry into Jerusalem. (Matthew 21:1-11, Mark 11:1-14, Luke 19:28-44, John 12:12-19) This week sets the stage for the climactic event of the Christian year, the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

I’ve decided for Passion Week that I am going to use the Stations of the Cross to reflect and pray upon. I’ve never really encountered them outside of the Catholic church, which I think is unfortunate. Too often Easter consists of Good Friday and Easter Sunday, with little thought given to anything else. The Stations are a tangible sign for us to use to celebrate(?) Passion week. I found a good website here that walks through praying them that I will be using. There are 14 stations, and beginning Sunday I will be focusing on two a day which will bring me up to Easter Sunday.

I’m looking forward to eating meat again, but Lent has been a great experience to grow and learn more about myself.

One thought on “Palm Sunday and Passion Week

  1. I am so impressed with the meat! And I didn’t know about the exception on Sunday [hi! Catholic!] that is neat.

    I am being good too – but mine is mandated [no/low salt] but we are having a good time finding new, exciting stuff to eat and the sodium is going lower for everyone.

    I bought my MIL a case of potato chips for Easter. She is such an addict for them and she gives them up every year but is so good at keeping her faith. I love her đŸ˜€ [One year I bought her “Potato chip of the Month Club” and it ran through Lent – I thought she was going to go bananas! Sorry I digressed]

Leave a Reply

