Fatherhood Friday

Springtime!

Fatherhood Friday at Dad Blogs

I love Spring! After 5 months of cold and snow, I am ready for the warm air of spring. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a big winter fan, but the transition seasons are my favorite. I love that I can go outside in just a hoodie or light jacket. I love that I don’t have to bundle bean up under 7 billion layers of clothing and blankets and snuggly-type thingies when we go out.

This is my first spring as a dad, and I’m so excited to share it with someone new. Someone whose never seen grass. Who has never felt the warm wind blow across his face. Someone who has never seen a rushing river. Who has never heard a babbling brook. Who has never seen the leaves in the trees. Who has never grabbed a handful of dirt and stuffed it in his mouth…wait… what? Oh right, I have a little boy, it is inevitable.

Spring means gardening season is about to start, and I’m so excited to introduce him to this wonderful hobby. It is our second year gardening, and it’s going to be a blast. We garden at a community garden where we have a 1500sq.ft plot which, come August will be full of vegetables. Last year there was a couple with a young guy, like Bean, and they had a playpen with a sun umbrella over it, so we’ll give that a try this year.

Everything is a new adventure with a little dude in my life, and I’m excited to start experiencing the world through the eyes of someone looking at it for the first time. I’m so glad I am able to spend each and every day with him. Thank you Government of Canada for Parental Leave. 🙂

Someone who has never seen a rushing river. Who has never heard a babbling brook. Who has never seen the leaves in the trees.
5 thoughts on “Springtime!

  1. I really didn’t realize how much I missed spring until I could see it on the horizon. Gardening with your child is great. We didn’t start one till our daughter was born. She has such a enthusiasm for gardening now. All theses idea’s of what she wants to grow this year are just jumping out of her head. Best of luck. It will be very exciting for both you.

    1. You have a great blog going. I look forward to checking it out week to week. I wish I started mine earlier. It’s such a great chance to connect and share with other fathers who truly love being fathers.

Leave a Reply

