Dear Bean

Prayer and Grace

Dear Bean,

Before before I put you down to to sleep, be it for nap or at night, I kiss your forehead and say a little prayer for you. (no, not the song) This is something my parents always did for me, and a tradition I want to pass on to you.

Now I lay you down to sleep,
I pray the Lord your soul to keep.
Guide you safely through the night.
and wake you with the morning light. Amen

When you are older we will say it together.

I like to know you are going to bed safe and loved.

I’ve also begun to think about saying grace before meals with you as we slowly transition to more solid forms of food. Growing up, I said the following before each meal:

Come Lord Jesus, be our guest.
Let this food to us be blessed. Amen.

Most families I know do it differently making up a prayer before each meal, thanking for whatever they choose along with the food. We never did that, and the concept is still foreign to me, though I like the idea.

Prayer, be it before sleep or a meal, is an important part of my day, and a value I hope to instill in you as you grow up.

Love,

Dad

6 thoughts on “Prayer and Grace

  1. Lord, you now have set your servant free *
    to go in peace as you have promised;
    For these eyes of mine have seen the Savior, *
    whom you have prepared for all the world to see:
    A Light to enlighten the nations, *
    and the glory of your people Israel.
    Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: *
    as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

    At Compline, the antiphon (refrain) before and after this canticle is:

    Guide us waking, O Lord, and guard us sleeping; that awake we may watch with Christ, and asleep we may rest in peace.

    (Using the same prayer every time for a table grace gets you away from occasionally praying, “Dear Lord, please bless this liver because it really needs it.” Instead, the same gratitude is shown for everything.)

  2. Excellent! I must say with sad conviction, that the thought hadn’t ocurred to me to start saying Grace with Ryne. The most prayerful I get at meals with him is one of thanks that we go through it!

  3. It’s never too early.. I started when my kids were eating baby foods and every meal, my daughter (having to be told of course) leads her younger brother and sister in prayer at the table.
    It’s great when the little ones repeat the last word of the line.

  4. @ Bob: I really like that. Thanks!

    @Brandon: I always have a quick prayer of thanks when we successfully make it through a bowl of food as well. 🙂

    @Eric: That’s awesome. I’m excited for when he is able to start saying it himself. Though first I’ll get to be excited when he says his first word. 🙂

Leave a Reply

