Fatherhood Friday

Post-6 month Change

Dear Bean,

Since celebrating your half-birthday last week, many changes have begun to take place.

One change was the introduction of veggies. And here is where we found out that you are your father’s son. πŸ™‚ Like me, you don’t seem to like vegetables. At least not on their own. You’ll eat them mixed in with rice cereal, but even then you make the cutest little grimaces. So far we’ve tried yams and carrots. I’m looking forward to moving onto fruits to see if you like them, because fruits are awesome, and you should.

Another change, and one I’m less excited about, is your change in napping. Up until now you worked on a pretty strict 3 hour cycle during the day: sleep for 1.5 hours, awake for 1.5 hours. This worked great! But now you are trying to stay up longer and maybe even phase out a nap. As I write this you are in bed and I can hear you shaking the bars on your crib. Oh, you just spit your soother on the floor. See you should be in the middle of a nap. Not babbling and making noise. πŸ™‚ Hopefully we’ll get this new schedule figured out soon, because having an overtired baby, or one lying in bed crying is never fun.

You have also discovered your feet, which makes me happy. I don’t know what it is about babies playing with their feet that is so cute, but it is. You discovered them a couple of days ago, and it’s so amusing watching you roll around on your back, feet up in the air and you try and pull them toward your mouth. Absolute cuteness.

Well, I should go reswaddle you so you stop banging on the crib, and stuff your soother back in your mouth so you go to sleep.

Love,

Dad

4 thoughts on “Post-6 month Change

  1. I have forgotten about those awesome new moments that come about in infancy. The great thing is it just keeps on getting better and better. I have also forgotten the diaper changes and the teething. Guess I’m just remembering the good stuff.

  2. @Portland Dad: That’s what I’m noticing. I have lots more Dear Bean drafts that I’m working on since things are changing so quickly. πŸ™‚

    @Edathomedad: I find I suffer from that in life. I’m great at remembering the good things and forgetting the not-so-pleasant. Sometimes it is nice to be reminded of the times when things sucked to put things in perspective though. πŸ™‚

  3. Our youngest – Tyson (1) – is pushing some new routines of his own on to us. Some ferocious teething has him up around 2 and then 4am. I am struggling but like all baby milestones, it’ll pass and we’ll be on to the next one (and hopefully more sleep.)

Leave a Reply

