running

C25K Beginnings

Tuesday I started running, something I’ve tried numerous times before over the years, but never stuck with due to injury. I already have bad knees, so they usually flare up and I’ve suffered from really bad shin splints. These usually cause me to rethink this whole running thing and I hang my shoes up until the next time. I was never very good at not pushing my limits and want to just get out there and give 100%, even though my body can in no way handle it. I pay for it the next day making it even harder to keep going.

This time I am taking an approach steeped in moderation. I am going to follow the Couch to 5K program. It is a 9 week program to get you from the couch to running a 5k. I’m going to sign up for one in the coming weeks to give me incentive to stick with the program.

The C25K program consists of running three times a week in cycles of running (jogging) and walking. Week 1 is 60 seconds running, 90 seconds walking, repeat for 20 minutes. Each week increases the amount of running and decreases the walking.

So far I’ve gone twice (Day 1 and 2 of Week 1). The first day was really rough by the end, and I could hardly walk the next two days. I was going to do day 2 on Thursday (Day 1 was on Mon) but decided to give my body an extra day to heal and went yesterday instead. My body was thankful for the rest, and I’m actually feeling really good today. I was stiff when I got home, but it wasn’t too bad. I wear a neoprene knee brace when running and ice both my knees when I get home.

We’ll see how I’m feeling tonight, and will hopefully do day 3 tomorrow. I’m going to use Twitter and my blog to keep me accountable, so feel free to let me know if I’m slacking. 🙂

4 thoughts on “C25K Beginnings

  1. I’m just terrible at running voluntarily. Unless I’m running after or away from something, I just can’t stick it out.

  2. couch to 5k is a good program. I used to run a lot (100+ miles a week) but when I lost the competitive spirit I just quit all together. Now I lift weights and walk a lot. I can still get out for a few miles when I’m really really motivated, but otherwise I like the peace of walking better now. Have you considered some shin strengthening exercises for the shin splints? Walk on your heels for a while and you’ll feel those shin muscles start to burn. That’s what my college coach used to have us do. Don’t know if it actually works though (I guess it might since I’ve never had one)

  3. Oh, I like that plan. Shin splints used to KILL me. That muscle was pretty sore after my first run, so I’m going to try that heel-walking thing.

    100+ miles a week? That’s crazy. I feel good if I get in 6. 😀

Leave a comment